Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Tap Giveaway Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
5 star
93%
4 star
7%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 15, 2014
I consider Andy Beal to be the "Godfather" of online reputation management (ORM). His talk at Search Engine Strategies in 2006 was what really got me interested in the subject. The book he co-authored with Dr. Judy Strass, "Radically Transparent: Monitoring and Managing Reputations Online" is one I consider to be *the* textbook for those who want to get started in the practice of ORM. When I saw Andy had a new book out, I definitely wanted to check it out.

"Repped: 30 Days to a Better Online Reputation" takes many of the concepts taught in Andy's earlier work, combines it with a lot of newer information and puts it all together into a step-by-step set of instructions that will help anyone wanting to improve their own or their business' online reputation. It takes readers through an A-Z process of:

* Understanding what an online reputation is
* How online reputation can affect individuals and businesses
* How to evaluate online reputation
* Steps to take to improve online reputation (if it's bad) or to solidify it (if it's good)
* How to weather an online reputation crisis.

This is a great guide for individuals or those who run small or medium-sized businesses. For those who are already ORM practitioners, "Repped" has a lot of great tips and ideas that will help you do your job better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
This is the day and age where we as a society post everything, but should we? There may be things you are posting now in high school or college that might come back to haunt you when looking for a job later in life, or when you are starting your career. This book goes into great detail as to why this is all important and why you need to take control of your reputation online NOW. If you are in need of help with Online Reputation Management, or even just trying to learn more, this book was written for you. Hands down one of the best resources on taking control of your reputation online that I have ever read. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Let me just tell you this: this book will set you up for life. Go google your name. What happens? Do you like what you see? Do online searches represent the authentic you? It’s important to your career and can affect both your professional and personal life. A solid online reputation will serve you everyday of your life.

Andy Beal’s book is an incredible, 30-day action plan that can help you build a better online reputation for yourself, your business, brand and/or organization. Every page seems to have practical advice that keeps me jumping back and forth between the book and my computer to put the principles into practice. This book covers everything from “what is online reputation management” to “finding your centers of influence” to “earning trusted reviews” and even “cleaning up the Google mess.” And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
Reputation management has become an essential aspect of doing business these days. One of my favorite lines from "Repped" is 'you only have one reputation.' It's surprisingly easy to ruin a company's reputation...and in some cases almost impossible to turn that around. And it usually happens in the blink of an eye - especially if you're not looking out for it.

Andy does an excellent job of explaining the best ways to create and maintain a good business (and personal) reputation. From information on building a good reputation, to researching your current online reputation, to damage control if necessary, to righting the wrong! Easy to read and digest, but long on useful advice, this handy guide is filled with extremely useful information and insights that cover virtually all aspects of online reputation.

I highly recommend this to anyone in business or who is marketing themselves in any way, especially social media.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
Small business owners either embrace or ignore online reviews. Every week we hear about businesses blaming customers for bad service or discounting a bad reviewer as a "kook." Honestly - every customer's opinion counts, even those that are disgruntled. Andy Beal is a master at helping companies, small and large, manage their online reputation - that he's written this manual for everyone in the world to use is something you shouldn't ignore.

For you to hire Andy to do this 30-day process for your business - you'd be investing tens of thousands of dollars - now you have a step by step guide for less than $20 - that's a bargain EVERY day! Buy this book right NOW!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
Andy Beal’s new book Repped is a practical, easy-to-understand guide on how to build a better online reputation in thirty days. It might sound a little incredulous, especially if you’re already suffering from a bad online reputation, but this task-oriented process manual outlines all the necessary steps to follow to build a positive online presence.

Beal defines the process as, “a deliberate effort to increase the number of positive internet discussions about you, while limiting the damage of any negative ones." Easier said than done, right? The point is, it does take some work and this book provides a map of the steps needed to accomplish the goal in an easy "task-a-day" format.

Chapter one supports the precept that no amount of SEO manipulation can fix poor character. Beal also reminds readers that we cannot build an online wall that completely separates our business and personal reputation. At the end of each chapter is a practical tip for the day called “Today’s Exercise.” Chapter one’s task: “Take an honest look at your character and make a note of any changes needed before trying to improve your online reputation.”

Beal extols patience and warns readers to avoid high risk methods of building an audience quickly to gain numbers, which don't equate to reputation by the way. He also addresses the topic of social media content, and how to build content that has a goal of being amazing. The book also talks about encouraging deliberate social sharing. “You need to herd your audience.”

Part of building your reputation means not violating the social media rules of etiquette such as over sharing and over promoting your own accomplishments. Beal reminds us that these behaviors hurt rather than help your online image.

Advice on social media content, etiquette, and online behavior make this book stands out in the sea of online reputation books that concentrate on SEO tricks. Beal, founder of Trackur, an online monitoring tool, understands the world of social media strategy better than most writers in this sector. The book does include lots of top notch advice on SEO and putting together profiles that will rank high on Google. He also adds advice on how to take advantage of positive reputation events as well. The book does a very good job of combining social media strategy and technical information. One of my favorite pieces of advice in this book is about trash talking. In a nutshell: you can’t position yourself higher by pushing others down. Don’t give in to the temptation.

There is also some sage advice in this book about online reviews and how to handle a reputation attack, legitimate or not. The book is very readable--each chapter is a "day" and ends with an action plan.

I recommend this book for anyone who works in social media, manages an online community, or wants to better understand how online reputation directly relates to social media success.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Very helpful, especially for begginers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
I have been teaching and consulting in Social Media for small business owners and sales professionals for over 7 years and I highly recommend this book. This is for all professionals that realize that your reputation online is as important as your reputation offline. This is for people that understand that if they can not find you online they are going to trust you less. The idea of intentional transparency that also supports you in being a better person as well as enhancing your business and career. This book is grounded in the reality of the years of Andy working directly with individuals, small businesses and large companies as well as clearly doing his best to walk his own talk. This is not a series of cheap tricks that are not sustainable but something you can integrate as part of your life for all ages. I do my best to use it fully, teach it and advise on it. Thanks Andy for writing it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
If you are alive, you need to read Repped. Seriously. You don't have to be a marketer, a business owner, or even an employee to benefit from this book. The author's no-nonsense approach to explaining how to catalog, investigate, and safeguard your reputation is invaluable. If you don't know what happens when you Google your own name, you need to find out. Whether you're a college student preparing for your first job, a seasoned executive who is in the media, or a retired non-internet user, there are things out there about you. And you should make sure you know what they say - and that they say what you want them to. That's the focus of the book, which is broken down into simple steps for each of 30 days. If you've never used a search engine before, you can use this book. If you are a professional online marketer, you can use this book to prepare you for the inevitable attacks on your reputation. The author's clear explanations, amusing examples, and personal stories will make you want to read all 30 days in one sitting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
This book does exactly what Andy set out to do with it: He walks you through exactly how to think about, and exactly what to do, in order to both improve your existing online reputation, as well as manage it day to day, including in crises.

The parts I found most valuable were:
* "Why I'm Anti Pronoun" in the "Keeping the Search Engine Spiders Happy" chapter as a technique to help improve your search engine listings by making one small change in how you talk about yourself online.
* His example in the Tools section of the "Create Amazing Content" chapter gave me several ideas of easy-to-make tools/web pages online both to improve my reputation as well as my marketing efforts.
* The "Better Press Relations" chapter is one of the most concise and practical pieces I've ever seen written on how to get started and maintain your public relations efforts online. It often seem nebulous and complicated, but Andy makes it very easy to understand and implement in a very powerful way.
* "Identifying Your Detractors" was incredibly eye opening for me in seeing the seven types of people who can negatively affect your brand, their interests, and why and how they hold power.

And, finally, the step-by-step, practical advice on what to do in those various worst case scenarios are so clearly outlined in "The First Steps When Your Reputation is Under Attack," "When You Mess Up, Fess Up," and "A Reputation Attack Without Merit" that it's worth thousands of times more than the cost of the book. Even if you end up hiring someone, internally or as a consultant, to improve your reputation, you need to know this stuff. The ten minutes it takes you to read those three chapters will save you thousands of dollars in the long run.

If you do anything online, especially if you have customers, you absolutely must have this book on hand, at the very least, for when that unfortunate and public reputation situation does happen. Because it will.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse